Friday, 11 November 2011

Wales Rugby Record-World Cup

Rugby World Cup is an international Rugby Union competition organized by the International Rugby Board (IRB) and held every four years since 1987. Rugby World Cup tournament was first held in May and June 1987 and was jointly hosted by Australia and New Zealand, sixteen nations taking part. New Zealand became the first ever champions, defeating France twenty-nine points to nine in the final. Rugby World Cup holders are awarded the William Webb Ellis Cup named after William Webb Ellis, the Rugby School pupil who (according to a popular myth) invented Rugby football by picking up the ball during a game and ran towards the opposition goal in 1823. Wales National Rugby Union Team have contested every Rugby World Cup since the inaugural tournament in 1987.

William Webb Ellis Cup

Wales National Rugby Union Team's first Rugby World Cup 1987 was most successful. Wales was in Pool B along with Canada, Ireland and Tonga. Wales won all three pool matches and qualified for quarter-final, defeated England in the quarter-final by 16-3. Before losing to the All Blacks world cup winners in the semi-finals. Wales then faced Australia in the third place play-off match, which Wales won by 22-21.

Rugby World Cup 1991 was the second edition of the International Rugby Union competition. Wales was in pool C, along with the Australia, Western Samoa and Argentina. Wales lost their matches from Western Samoa by 13-16, Argentina by 16-7 and Australia by 3-38. Wales were dumped out of the World Cup by the little known Western Samoa in the pool stages.

Rugby World Cup 1995 was the third edition of International Rugby Union competition. Wales was in pool C along with New Zealand, Ireland and Japan. Wales won from Japan by 10-57 and lost two matches from New Zealand by 34-9 and from Ireland by 24-23 again not qualifying for the World Cup quarter-finals.
Rugby World Cup 1999
Rugby World Cup 1999 was the fourth edition of International Rugby Union competition and was the first time to be held in Rugby Union's professional era. Principal host was Wales, although the majority of matches were played outside the country shared between England, France, Scotland and Ireland. Wales was in pool D along with Argentina,Samoa and Japan. Welsh team was awarded the automatic qualification berth offered to the hosts. Wales lost quarter-final from World cup winners Australia by 24-9.

Rugby World Cup 2003 was the fifth edition of International Rugby Union competition.Wales was in Pool D along with New Zealand, Italy, Canada and Tonga. Wales won three of their four matches. Wales defeated Canada by 41-10,Tonga by 27-20 and Italy 27-15. Wales lost from New Zealand by 53-37. Wales lost from England in quarter final by 28-17.

Rugby World Cup 2007 was the sixth edition of International Rugby Union competition. Wales was in Pool B along with Australia, Canada, Fiji and Japan. Wales lost two of three matches and in their final pool match Fiji defeated Wales. Wales failed to reach the quarter finals after being knocked out in the pool stages.

Rugby World Cup 2011 is the seventh edition of International Rugby Board. Wales was in Pool D along with South Africa, Samoa, Fiji and Namibia. Wales qualified for quarter final and was defeated world cup runner up France in the semi final.

World Cup 2011 Wales Rugby Team

Six Nations Championship is played annually. is the best place to find Six Nations Rugby Tickets at a great price. is the online ticket exchange platform where you can buy or sell Rugby Tickets. Get your Six Nations Rugby Tickets here at conviniently.

Scotland vs England Tickets -Murrayfield Stadium Edinburgh, United Kingdom - £120.00 GBP
Italy vs England Tickets -Stadio Flaminio Rome, Italy
England vs Wales Tickets -Twickenham Stadium, London
France vs England Tickets -Stade de France Paris, France
England vs Ireland Tickets -Twickenham Stadium London, United Kingdom

No comments:

Post a Comment