Friday, 11 November 2011

Wales Rugby Record-Six Nations

Wales National Rugby Union Team represents Wales in International Rugby Union Tournaments. Welsh Rugby Union (RU) governing body was established in 1881. Wales played their first international match against England in 1881. Welsh rugby struggled between the first and second World Wars. The International Rugby Board regards Wales as a Tier One rugby nation and is ranked fourth in the world by the result of International Rugby Board on 17th October 2011.
Six Nations logo

Six Nations Championship is played annually and is one of the largest and oldest Rugby Union competitions which are started in 1883 as the "Home Nations" championship, a tournament between England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales. It became the Five Nations in 1910, when France joined the tournament. In 2000, Italy joined the competition, which became the Six Nations. The Six Nations Championship was the first International Rugby Union tournament in the Northern Hemisphere. The Six Nations is currently sponsored by Royal Bank of Scotland and is called RBS 6 Nations for sponsorship reasons.

The format of the Six Nations Championship is simple each team plays every other team once, with home field advantage alternating from one year to the next. Two points are awarded for a win, one for a draw and none for a loss. If a team wins all its games, they are said to have won a 'Grand Slam'. Back to back Grand Slams have been achieved on five occasions, by Wales in 1908 and 1909, by England in 1913 and 1914, 1923 and 1924 and 1991 and 1992, and by France in 1997 and 1998. England holds the record for the number of Grand Slams won with 12, followed by Wales with 10, France with 9, Scotland with 3 and Ireland with 2.

Triple crown and Grand Slam Trophy

Wales National Rugby Union Team Record in Six Nations Championship are: Wales first time won Six Nations Championship in 1893 with a Triple Crown. Wales have won the Six Nations Championship outright 24 times, and shared eleven other victories. Wales longest wait between championships was 11 years from 1994-2005. Wales first won a Five Nations Grand Slam in 1911 and Wales first Six Nations Grand Slam in 2005. Wales latest Grand Slam was won against France on 15 March 2008.

Wales won Grand Slam in 2008

The winners of the Six Nations Championship are also known as the European Champions. England is the current champion of Six Nations Championship title beating France, who won a title in 2010. England won Six Nations Championship title on 19March, 2011.

Six Nations Championship is played annually. is the best place to find Six Nations Rugby Tickets at a great price. is the online ticket exchange platform where you can buy or sell Rugby Tickets. Get your Six Nations Rugby Tickets here at conviniently.

Scotland vs England Tickets -Murrayfield Stadium Edinburgh, United Kingdom - £120.00 GBP
Italy vs England Tickets -Stadio Flaminio Rome, Italy
England vs Wales Tickets -Twickenham Stadium, London
France vs England Tickets -Stade de France Paris, France
England vs Ireland Tickets -Twickenham Stadium London, United Kingdom

Sites Listings

No comments:

Post a Comment